Amaury Raphaël Carole Nicolas Laurent

The beginning

>Early 2000 : Raphaël (drums) et Olivier (keyboards) meet up in Paris after having played together in Brest. If Olivier's heart is inclined to favor pop music, he's also a huge fan of Dream Theater. And hence he accepts to dive into the heavy metal world. They hire Amaury (bass) and, after a few Internet searches, Nicolas (guitar).

> March-September 2000 : several singers and lead guitar players will take their chance in a band who still searches for his own musical identity, between strong influences of heavy metal from the 80's and progressive desires. The band fixes his choice on Kristina, a lyric singer fan of Nightwish. A little later, Alain turns up as the new guitar soloist. Even if he's not a huge metal addict, this student in musicology perfectly plays his role.

> Fall 2000 : Nicolas leaves the band, at that time named Wildred, to continue his journalism studies in Tours. Wildred will carry on with just one guitar player, but will throw in the towel following the recording of a 3-tracks demo.

The reunion

> Summer 2002: Nicolas, back in Paris, contacts Raphaël again. Olivier, on his side, is definitively lost for the metal cause. Amaury joins the duet a little time later. Nicolas then finds, still by Internet, that special someone tocomplement him: Laurent.

> On the other hand, singers become scarce. Several of them will follow but it's not getting on fine. The band will also host a keyboard player during several rehearsals, Thomas. But Thomas wants a fully operational band, whereas Perpetual (e)motion is still starting out. He then decides to leave.

> Fall 2003, Benoît Quincy joins P(e) as a singer.
Several gigs with this line-up will enable P(e) to test the compositions live.

> January 2005 : Benoît leaves P(e) to devote himself to Octantis, his other band.
The auditions for his replacement start but, once again, it turns out to be difficult to find that special someone.
In parallel, P(e) finally finds his new keyboard player: Maxime, who's not especially fond of metal, but whose open-mindedness fully fits with the band.

> December 2005 : After Maxime's departure, Laurent decides to wear the 2 hats of guitarist and keyboard player.

> July 2006 : After numerous auditions of male and female singers with various musical styles, Carole becomes the new singer of Perpetual (e)motion. A few arrangements later, the recipe combining the lyric-heavy singing and the progressive metal of the current PE takes shape.

Witness of Entropy

> 2010 : P(e) releases their first 6-tracks demo, recorded at Raphaël's home. Witness of entropy includes all that makes the "P(e) sound": music continually vary between powerful guitar riffs and orchestral keyboard melodies, on complex structures where tempos, signatures and scales submit to hopes, sorrows, rebellion...
From the heart of this unpredictable mechanism soars a flight of female chant, inspired by the lyric world as well as heavy metal, scanning lyrics fed by current events and fiction...

Amaury Raphaël Carole Nicolas Laurent

Les débuts

>Début 2000 : Raphaël (batterie) et Olivier Orsola (clavier) se retrouvent sur Paris après avoir joué ensemble à Brest. Si le coeur d'Olivier penche plutôt pour la pop et la variété, il est également fan de Dream Theater. Il accepte donc sans trop de réticences de plonger dans le monde du metal. Ils recrutent Amaury (basse) et, après quelques recherches internettiennes, Nicolas (guitare).

> Mars-Septembre 2000 : plusieurs chanteurs ainsi que des guitaristes solistes vont tenter l'aventure dans un groupe qui cherche encore son identité musicale, entre fortes influences du metal des années 80 et envies progressives. Le groupe «jette» son dévolu sur Kristina, une chanteuse lyrique fan de Nightwish. Peu de temps après, Alain débarque au poste de soliste. Pas vraiment fan de metal, cet étudiant en musicologie remplit néanmoins parfaitement son rôle.

> Septembre 2000 : Nicolas quitte le groupe, alors baptisé Wildred, pour reprendre ses études de journalisme à Tours. Wildred poursuivra quelques temps avec un seul guitariste mais jettera l'éponge suite à l'enregistrement d'une démo 3 titres.

Les retrouvailles

> Eté 2002 : Nicolas, revenu en région parisienne, recontacte Raphaël. Olivier, de son côté, est définitivement perdu pour la cause metal. Amaury rejoint le duo quelques temps après. Nicolas déniche par la même occasion, toujours par Internet, la perle rare pour le compléter aux guitares : Laurent.

> Par contre, les chanteurs se font rares. Plusieurs vont se succéder derrière le micro, mais cela ne colle pas.
Le groupe accueillera aussi pendant deux répétitions un clavier en la personne de Thomas Sommer. Mais Thomas veut un groupe opérationnel à 100 % alors que Perpetual (e)motion n'en est qu'à ses débuts. Il décide donc de quitter le navire.

> En octobre 2003, Benoît Quincy intègre P(e) en tant que chanteur.
Plusieurs concerts avec ce line-up permettront à P(e) d'éprouver les compositions en live.

> Janvier 2005 : Benoît nous quitte pour se consacrer à Octantis, son autre groupe.
Les auditions pour son remplacement commencent mais une fois de plus il s'avère difficile de trouver la perle rare.
En parallèle, P(e) trouve enfin un clavier qui semble convenir : Maxime, qui n'a pas des influences spécialement metal mais dont l'ouverture d'esprit correspond au groupe.

> Décembre 2005 : Après le départ de Maxime, qui ne s'épanouit pas dans l'univers musical de P(e), Laurent prend la double casquette de guitariste/clavier.

> Juillet 2006 : Après de nombreuses auditions de chanteurs et chanteuses aux styles variés, Carole devient la nouvelle chanteuse de Perpetual (e)motion
Après quelques arrangements des morceaux existant la recette chant lyrico-heavy et metal progressif du PE actuel prend forme.

Witness of Entropy

> 2010 : P(e) sort son premier six-titres, enregistré chez Raphaël. Witness of entropy regroupe tout ce qui fait le «son P(e)» : la musique oscille continuellement entre les riffs acérés des guitares et les mélodies orchestrées au clavier, sur des structures parfois complexes où les tempos, les signatures et les gammes se plient aux espoirs, aux douleurs, aux rebellions ; il arrive ainsi que de la section rythmique s'échappe un solo de basse...
Du coeur de cette mécanique imprévisible s'envole un chant féminin, autant inspiré du monde lyrique que du heavy metal, délivrant des textes nourris aussi bien par l'actualité que par la fiction...